1.2 The End of the Dream

Previous | Next

Greetings and Salutations, you Stranger who hold this author’s work in their hands. If you have found this book, then you are most likely a Sleeper still – if you don’t know what I’m talking about, then you’re a Sleeper for sure, if you DO, then you are most likely not one.

What a strange opening, I thought. The text was neat and easy to read, but the writing seemed so… unnatural. Stilted, and yet heartfelt. I continued on.

Along with this book, you should have found thirty-one loose pages, as well as a heavy package roughly the size of a large letter, which you hopefully did not open yet.

I checked quickly. Thirty-one pages, present. Package, obviously present and very unopened. I turned around onto my back, wiggling around so I could raise my legs up against the wall, and continued reading…

There is so much this author can and wants to tell you. Teach you. But you will not be able to comprehend most any of it. By now you must have realised that you cannot read the writing on the loose pages, nor are you able to read anything of this book beyond the Introduction…

A quick look – true, I couldn’t. How strange.

…and yet I would wager that you are not too disturbed by it, are you not? In fact, it’s becoming harder and harder to remember the place in which you found this book, is this author not right?

He was wrong. I could remember the secret place in the library perfectly… but I was getting a headache whenever I recalled it.

This is because of what we call ‘the Masquerade’; it is, and you will most likely not believe this author, a colossal spell, cast a long, looong time ago so as to separate the world of magic from the world that is now the Mundane.

I blinked, reading that line again. Then I shook my head, and read it again. What? Was this a j- No, it couldn’t be. I remembered the secret place in the library – the library I’d spent most of my free time in, ever since my sixth year, which I’d thought I knew inside-out. I had been unable to read any of the books there, or the loose pages…

You needn’t believe this author just yet; Unfortunately, there is but one way to prove what is being said here is true, and not just a fantasy – you must perform the Rite of Awakening, and throw off the shackles of the Masquerade.

“Rite of Awakening… sounds pretentious,” I whispered to myself. It all sounded like a fantasy story, but… what other explanation could there be for what happened earlier?

All those books I hadn’t read yet… books that might, just might contain true magic.

Let this author say one more thing, Stranger, before he explains the Rite. To throw off the Masquerade is to enter a world of wonder… and horror. The Masquerade is both a prison and a castle, limiting you, but also protecting you. It makes you less susceptible to spells of all kinds, and less… noticeable to supernatural predators (because you are ‘masked’). So beware – there is no going back. Once the mask is off, it stays off.

“So… mortal danger to life and sanity on one hand… and more books on the other. Let’s see how this rite works!” I turned the page.

The next one folded open, a large sheet of paper folded up and bound into the book. It was as large as four whole pages, and showed an intricate diagram of a magic circle. A circle within a circle, the space between the two filled with illegible scribbles. A pentagram was drawn within, its points touching the inner circle. There were notes added, in red ink, describing how long each line had to be, how big the angles, and some references to numbers.

The next page listed the numbers.

#1 (this one was in the center of the pentagram, in the pentagon) this must be empty and clean, for your chosen patron to appear

#2 (the five points of the pentagram) a burning candle, no less than three inches tall, no more than fifteen (if you can get them in colours that correspond to your chosen patron, all the better)

#3 (the space between the two circles) as much information as you have on your chosen patron (we’ll get to that later)

#4 (the five triangles of the pentagram) some object symbolising an aspect of your patron each

#5 (the upper triangle, the ‘head’) your offering to your patron, so as to attract them

Wow, this has got to be the most elaborate spell I’ve ever seen written down!,” I said to no one in particular. And I’ve read almost every single pen and paper rulebook out there, and then some!

I turned the page, and there was another folded page, but for this one, there were only two flaps, one up and one to the left, folding open to double the size of the page while making it square. Another pentacle was drawn on it, covering four ninth of the ground the larger one.

#1 (this one was in the center of the pentagram, in the pentagon) you should be here, with no part of your body extending outside of the pentagon

#2 (the five points of the pentagram) a burning candle, no less than three inches tall, no more than fifteen (if you can get them in colours that correspond to you, all the better)

#3 (the space between the two circles) as much information as you can write down on your Self

#4 (the five triangles of the pentagram) some object symbolising an aspect of you each

#5 (the upper triangle, the ‘head’) a small bowl, saucer or cup, filled with at least twelve drops of blood from your right hand and one from the left (reversed if you are left-handed)

Make sure the upper triangle of your circle points East, while the circle of your patron is facing it from that direction, its upper head triangle pointing towards you. Encase the entire construction in an even larger circle which touches the West point of your circle and the East point of the patron’s circle.

Note that you must perform this ritual underneath the open sky, during the witching hour and completely naked*

Brows furrowed, I looked down at the footnote. It read:

*This author does not know why it is required to be naked for most major rituals, but the fact remains that it must be done that way to ensure a smooth progress (so best you get used to being naked). This author suspects that whoever codified the first rituals was either granted knowledge of awesome secrets beyond mortal ken, or he** seriously needed to get laid***

**Let’s face it, it had to be a guy if this was true. Women never seem to have half as much trouble getting laid as we guys**** do

***This author’s money is on him seriously needing to get laid

****This author needs to get laid, too. Memo to self: Research summoning of Angels of Pleasure*****. Succubi are just not worth the effort

*****Do not, I repeat, do not ever summon an Angel of Pleasure. The one this author contacted was all too willing to engage in a tryst, in exchange for the author listening to its poetry. No amount of literally heavenly sex is worth listening to their poetry******.

******One would assume having eons of practice and literally divine inspiration would produce quality poetry, but no. No. Just… NO.

I bit my lip, trying not to giggle at the cheap humor. At least I know now that the author is a guy. Doesn’t surprise me, to be honest.

Thumbing through the next few pages, I took in every detail on the ritual. It all seemed pretty straightforward, except for the two most important elements (of course): the choice of a patron and the sacrifice given. The author of the book had this to say on the patron:

Your first and probably most important choice in regards to the Rite of Awakening is the choice of your Patron; though the term may be misleading. Let this author explain it in detail:

The Masquerade is an ancient spell… though perhaps calling it a ‘spell’ is misleading, too. It is more of a contract, really, combined with the greatest magical working this author is aware of. It is not known to this author who or what created it, only that both Myrddin (also known as Merlin) and the First Staff (more on Archetypes and their Prototypes later) were involved, and that it took place after the Seal of Solomon was created.

To break free from its bindings, one must summon a sufficiently powerful entity – usually a god, major nature spirit, greater demon (Seventh Circle or higher) or one of the lords of the Fey, to name a few. Then, one must bargain with them, offering a sufficient sacrifice of ones own choosing to convince said entity to lift the Masquerade in regards to the practitioner.

The most common sacrifices are:

– the ability to lie

– the ability to bear children

– ones Soul upon death

– a human sacrifice (only if you’re evil)

– becoming the Patron’s agent/priest/servant

Of course, the sacrifice does not need to be so great – one might pay with only a token sacrifice, like a lock of hair or a personal object, so long as you convince your patron to accept such a sacrifice. There are no drawbacks to a lesser sacrifice, nor advantages to a greater one, unless additional terms are negotiated (for example, one may both be awakened and gain an item of power, a measure of knowledge or some other boon from their patron).

Take good care in choosing your Patron, and do consider the path you wish to take – if, for example, you wish to become a Demoniac, having a demonic Patron would be an advantage, if only for a more amicable rapport (as far as that is possible with demons); if you wish to be a Conductor, summoning, dealing and working with angels, then an angelic or saintly Patron should be considered. Elementalists, Druids or other Nature mages should consider a noble of the Wyld Fae, and Enchanters, Illusionists and such should consider both Wyld and Urban Fae, and so on. Research your preferred Patron, learn as much as possible about them – folktales in particular often contain very useful information in order to determine a beings’ spheres of influence, themes and Archetypes.

There are, however, three beings you should never attempt to summon at all:

– the Abrahamaic God (does not answer)

– Death (does not answer)

– Lucifer/the Devil (always answers, WILL screw you over)

If your Patron does not answer your summonings or refuses your request, then you must wait until at least the next witching hour before you may attempt it again. It is inadvisable, though not impossible, to call on the same entity several times in order to bargain differently, though doing that may antagonise the inten-

Knock knock.

* * *

“Who is it?” I asked. Usually, that wasn’t necessary, since it was just Papa and me (the two friends I had that might come up to my room unannounced never bothered to knock, anyway). But Aunt Lora liked dropping in on me whenever she was here.

“It’s me, honey. Can I come in?” came the reply. It was Papa’s voice.

“Of course, come in!”

He did, stepping in with a covered platter on his hand. “I bet you didn’t think of dinner while you were reading… or even lunch,” he said. “So I made you some fingerfood.”

“Oh, thank you!” I said, jumping up to take it off his hand. It felt warm. And I was hungry. Having a perfect memory didn’t mean I always thought of everything. “You didn’t have to interrupt your game, though. The others are going to get annoyed!”

He ran his fingers through my hair, smiling. “They don’t mind. And you really need to eat more, babybell. Got to put on some weight,” he replied.

I rose a little on tiptoes, enjoying the sensation. “You know that doesn’t work. I can eat as much as I want, I never put on weight.” Not that I’d mind some.

“No point in giving up. It’ll work, sooner or later.” He kissed the top of my head (it was the part he could reach the easiest). “I’ll go back to playing. Please remember that you still need sleep – and that we have a program for tomorrow.”

I nodded, feeling sheepish. I probably would have stayed up until morning, reading, if he hadn’t reminded me just now. “I’ll eat up, read some more, and then go to sleep before one, alright?”

He nodded and patted my head. “Promise?”

“Promise.”

“Alright. Have a good night, sweetie, and sweet dreams.”

“You too! And the others, as well! Don’t play until the morning hours – again!”

He chuckled and left after kissing my head again, gently closing the door behind himself.

I hurried back to my bed, putting the platter onto my nightstand and lifting the lid.

Mmm, Papa’s Evening Mix No. 3. Freshly heated up french baguette with melted herb butter, jalapenos filled with melted cheese, and lots of other goodies… if he wasn’t my father, I’d fall in love with him just for the food he made.

I ate a few bites, before I laid down on my bed again and pulled the book out to continue.

Which ‘Patron’ should I try for, I wonder?

I went on reading (and munching) until the end of the ‘witching hour’. There was no point in trying this stuff today, anyway. Maybe tomorrow.

Previous | Next

10 thoughts on “1.2 The End of the Dream

  1. I was originally planning to take this chapter much further, until the end of the rite of awakening – but I’m pulling ten-hour shifts at work right now AND fighting the university bureacracy, so there’s not much time – not nearly enough.

    I’ll try and deliver the next one faster than this one, but I can’t make any promises until the semester proper starts

    • Ties, we follow web novels, we are the most patient beings in the universe and then some, don’t worry and don’t compromise yourself, we’re with you every step of the way

      • It’s nice of you to say that, but the issue is that I want to keep up the schedule for my own sake, so to speak – to prove to myself that I can^^

      • Patient? Ha! We just fear angering the beings known as authors who provide our only source of sustenance. So we appease them, make them feel important, all while we slowly suck away their life force!

        To any authors who read this: I’m joking! No need to worry….. Just ignore this and continue sacrificing your souls to us in blissfull ignorance… Your… Mmmm…… Souls…… *stomach rumbling sound*
        Web serials…. So much more tasty in the devotion put forth by their authors than printed novels…. Stupid printed novels…. Denying us their essence through ancient techniques passed down from publishers of olde…..
        Wait, you’re still reading!? Stop! This information was not meant for authors eyes! (Ignore the message saying to authors)

Leave a comment